101 Ways to Use a Long Video in the Classroom

My one-to-one student has recently become interested in the topic of unschooling and asked me if we could do this video on the topic in our English class. I said yes before I knew what I was doing. When I was preparing for the class I realized I wasn’t sure what the aim of watching that video was and what I could do with it. So I asked my colleagues on Twitter and was soon overwhelmed by the amazing response.

There came so many fantastic ideas and I know they would get lost if I didn’t write them up soon, which is why I’m writing this post. So what can you do with a video which is a bit too long, say about ten minutes?

General content:

Many of my colleagues suggested using the video as a basis for general comprehension and discussion. Silvia said I could ask the student to talk about her childhood experiences. Helen put forward the idea of the student giving a lecture on the topic or writing an essay. Jedrek suggested a conversation on the topic using comprehension questions (rest assured that when Jedrek says conversation, he means the real deal).

Break it down:

Maria was not the only one to believe the video needs to be broken down into more manageable units and then exploited for vocabulary, connected speech, word formation and summary writing.

Kyle thought the student should choose a section in the video to focus on (something of interest or a difficult section they needed help with) and Robert was of a similar opinion, suggesting that in this particular case the student focus on psychology and education vocabulary.

Make a quiz:

The first idea that comes to mind is a gap-fill – but the video is too long for it. Eily directed me to ED Puzzles and even created one quiz as an example. This is a completely new tool for me and I look forward to using it more in the future. Glenys and Anthony showed me this quiz generator which works well if you have a transcript. Tube Quizard can also be used for creating videos in an instant. If there is no transcript, however, the automatic subtitles can be used and the teacher can ask the students to find the differences between the audio and the subtitles.

Dig deeper:

Anthony also said the video could be used to develop critical thinking using these questions.

Marc ‘s advice was to ask for a synthesis, i.e. ask the student to watch more videos/read some articles on the same topic. The student should then provide an oral/written summary, which could be limited in minutes or words.

I hope I haven’t forgotten anyone’s tips. If any of the people mentioned above read this, I’d like to thank you once again.

 

4 thoughts on “101 Ways to Use a Long Video in the Classroom

  1. Pingback: Working with Long Videos | Anthony Teacher.com

Leave a Reply

